‘Everyone is a content creator’

Yesterday, I had my first TECH 637 class. So today, I’ve asked myself if I had learned something and what I had learned. And my answer to the first question is absolutely, yes! I think that I’m starting to know more about all the concept of Social Media, its importance and scope nowadays.

In class, I really liked when we tried to define the concept and made a graph/mind map about how we can connect the concepts of Web 2.0 (a must reading article if you want to clarify your mind about Web 2.0 and its evolution, link here “What is Web 2.0” ), Enterprise 2.0, Social Networking Sites and Social Media. Because all these are connected in this world and we should try to understand the relationships.

brainAnother point or idea that really impressed me is all the  issue about harnessing collective intelligence and its range. Tim O’Reilly, in the article I mentioned and linked above, present Web 2.0 as a “global brain”. He gives some examples such as Wikipedia (where an entry can be added by any web user and edited by another) or del.icio.us or Flickr (that have pioneered the “folksonomy”, to subject indexing systems created within Internet communities).

Here it goes, what our instructor Mihaela, said: ‘Everyone is a content creator’.

When you start thinking about it you figure out  it’s really true and amazing! In this social web12media world ‘People can push out changes’.

Again citing the article: ‘The world of Web 2.0 is also the world of what Dan Gillmor calls “we, the media,” a world in which “the former audience”, not a few people in a back room, decides what’s important.’

‘Everyone is a content creator’

7 thoughts on “‘Everyone is a content creator’

  1. I totally agree with your opinion! As Dr.V told us, to deeply understand Social Internet, we need to immerse it first. but creating contents means speaking to the public. It makes me nervous! what about you?

    1. ariadnacaixach says:

      It makes me nervous, too! I’m not used to share my thoughts via internet but I think we get used to it. Thumbs up!

  2. Thank you for that nice reflection; well-written and well-considered. I really appreciated the concept of “folksonomy” from our class discussion, too. When we were discussing this, it reminded me of the concept of “cow paths” in college campus sidewalk designs (http://bit.ly/14DqQl8). Anyway, very fun. Thank you.

    1. ariadnacaixach says:

      Thank you, Doug! I really appreciate your comments!
      Interesting the connection you’ve made with the “cow paths”… And I liked the Easter ham story, very authentic.

  3. ariadnacaixach says:

    Seriously, I enjoyed reading this article! There’re some fantastic quotes too, like “America loves its solitary geniuses—its Einsteins, its Edisons, its Jobses—but those lonely dreamers may have to learn to play with others.” Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

