A Summer in Green Myanmar

I have been back home for some days now and I can not still forget this last summer in Myanmar. It has been an unique experience. I was not prepared for the different way of travelling I encountered, but after the initial shock I have had the time of my life. Experienced people said me that for a first-timer traveller in Asia, Myanmar is probably the most difficult country to cope with. Tourism and infrastructure are just beginning and a lot of patience and energy are necessary. However, it is worth it because we saw a beautiful and very much untouched country. Getting to know how local people live has been a very rewarding experience. I know it will sound like a cliché, but it is true: It has been a very rewarding experience specially for a person who is aware of the importance of adopting a sustainable lifestyle. Here, I have seen the value of going sometimes back to the basics. I am of course not saying that they need to be at a standhill. They have the right to develop, be more productive and have a better quality of life. However, not ignoring their own green daily lifestyle and own efforts is basic to achieve a balanced and sustainable development.

After this little opening about my Myanmar impression, I would like to remark the great use of a material, so called sustainable, in this country and Asia, in general. Yes, you have probably guessed it: bamboo. bamboo plantationsI have to admit that I have a weakness for bamboo, and I have written sometimes about it (Bamboo bicycles>>Riding towards Sustainability). Bamboo is defined as a Rapidly Renewable Material. These materials are those which can be self-regenerated by the end of their product life and from here comes one of the reasons for it being called green and sustainable. And better if it is removed from plantations responsibly managed.

In Myanmar, bamboo is the top construction material. It has a higher compressive strength than wood, brick or concrete and a tensile strength that rivals steel. Therefore, in this country, bamboo offers excellent earthquake resistant structures.bamboo houses

On the other hand, it is also the top utensils material. I love all craft, artisan and DIY stuff so looking at all the beautiful things they create with bamboo was truly amazing.bamboo baskets
Specially, I fall in love with the baskets they use to work in the country fields. We bought some in a village from a Shan family we spent one night with. Looking them making the baskets was beautiful. And looking them looking at us so happy after we decided to buy some, has no price. They are truly kind people and they value the things nature provide them, they are not selfish and they try their best to be happy with what they have. It is vital, and I hope that in their development journey they will carry on knowing that it’s hip to be green!

A Summer in Green Myanmar

Leave a Reply

